Institute of Sports and Sports Science (IfSS)

Teaching mission statement

The aim of teaching at KIT is to qualify young people based on intensive scientific and research-oriented education and the interdisciplinary acquisition of skills.
At the end of their studies, students can independently identify current and future problems, work on complex issues and develop sustainable solutions with the help of scientific methods. In order to achieve this goal, KIT pursues the strategy of research-oriented teaching:

Students learn the foundations of current research topics, processes and results

In the foundation study courses, the students are given first insights into research topics, processes and results from the social science, natural science and medical disciplines, which are then taken up and expounded in the specialisation modules.

Students learn techniques and skills to solve research problems

In the research methods in sports science courses, the students receive comprehensive method training, which initially focuses on the teaching of basic knowledge and, based on this, identifies and discusses application-oriented research problems and develops possible solutions.

Students participate in the research discussion and apply learnt knowledge and techniques

As part of the main course, students can participate in in-house research projects and actively participate in research processes. This gives students the opportunity to apply and further develop their learnt knowledge and methods.

Students work independently on (own) research projects

Through in-house research institutions e.g. BioMotion Center, performance diagnostics, Forschungszentrum für den Schulsport und den Sport von Kindern und Jugendlichen (FoSS) and a number of third-party funded projects, students already have diverse opportunities to collaborate on various research projects right at the beginning of their studies.

As part of the final thesis, the students have to independently plan and carry out their (own) research project. In doing so, they learn to formulate their own research idea, to select and apply suitable methods, to analyze and assess their data as well as to interpret and classify the results.

Intranet | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Leitbild der Lehre

Das Ziel der Lehre am KIT ist die Qualifikation junger Menschen auf der Basis einer intensiven wissenschaftlichen und forschungsorientierten Ausbildung und des überfachlichen Kompetenzerwerbs.

Die Studierenden können am Ende ihres Studiums eigenständig aktuelle und zukünftige Probleme identifizieren, komplexe Fragestellungen bearbeiten und mit Hilfe wissenschaftlicher Methoden nachhaltige Lösungen entwickeln. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, verfolgt das KIT die Strategie der forschungsorientierten Lehre:

 

Studierende lernen die Grundlagen aktueller Forschungsthemen, -prozesse und -ergebnisse kennen

In den Lehrveranstaltungen des Grundlagenstudiums werden den Studierenden erste Einblicke in Forschungsthemen, -prozesse und -ergebnisse aus den sozialwissenschaftlichen, naturwissenschaftlichen und medizinischen Disziplinen vermittelt, die in den Vertiefungsmodulen aufgegriffen und vertiefend behandelt werden. 

 

Studierende erlernen Techniken und Fähigkeiten zur Lösung von Forschungsproblemen

In den Lehrveranstaltungen zu Forschungsmethoden in der Sportwissenschaft erhalten die Studierenden eine umfassende Methodenausbildung, die zunächst den Schwerpunkt auf die Vermittlung von Basiswissen legt und darauf aufbauend anwendungsorientiert Forschungsprobleme identifiziert, diskutiert und mögliche Lösungsansätze erarbeitet.

 

Studierende wirken im Forschungsdiskurs mit und wenden generiertes Wissen sowie erlernte Techniken an

Im Rahmen des Hauptstudiums können die Studierenden an institutsinternen Forschungsprojekten mitwirken und sich aktiv in die Forschungsprozesse einbringen. Dadurch haben die Studierenden die Möglichkeit, ihr generiertes Wissen und ihre erlernten Methoden anzuwenden und weiter auszubauen.

 

Studierende arbeiten selbständig an (eigenen) Forschungsprojekten

Durch institutsinterne Forschungseinrichtungen z. B. BioMotion Center, Leistungsdiagnostik, Forschungszentrum für den Schulsport und den Sport von Kindern und Jugendlichen (FoSS) sowie eine Reihe von Drittmittelprojekten haben Studierende bereits zu Beginn des Studiums vielfältige Möglichkeiten an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten mitzuarbeiten.

Im Rahmen der Abschlussarbeit müssen die Studierenden selbständig ein (eigenes) Forschungsprojekt planen und durchführen. Dabei lernen sie, eine eigene Forschungsidee zu formulieren, geeignete Methoden auszuwählen und anzuwenden, die erhobenen Daten zu analysieren und auszuwerten sowie die Ergebnisse zu interpretieren und einzuordnen.